Celebrity News

Three Game Of Thrones Stars Receive Emmy Nominations After HBO Snub

By  | 


The nominations for the 2019 Emmy Awards were revealed on Tuesday and while people have mixed opinions about what was deserved and who was snubbed, these Game of Thrones stars weren’t about to let their last chance at getting recognized for their work go too easily. 10 stars of the HBO show have been honored with a nomination for their part in the final season, however, three of them have nobody to thank but themselves — seeing as HBO was no help at all.

If you don’t know how the Emmys work — to get nominated, production companies must submit their cast members for review by paying a $225 fee for each. According to the Hollywood Reporter, HBO submitted Maisie Williams, Lena Headey, Sophie Turner, Emilia Clarke, Kit Harington, Peter Dinklage and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau for their Emmy nominations. HBO clearly judged the situation well, as all actors came out with nominations.

Other HBO actors Alfie Allen (who played Theon Greyjoy), Gwendoline Christie (Brienne of Tarth) and Carice van Houten (Melisandre) felt they deserved a shot at the Emmy and therefore submitted themselves to the prestigious award show, paying the entry fee out of their own pocket. Gwendoline received a nomination in the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series category, Alfie for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series, and Carice for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series.

We’re not too sure about Melisandre (sorry Carice), but we think that Theon and Brienne both had some serious scenes in season eight of the award-winning show, so we’re pretty shocked that HBO didn’t get behind them. In saying that, Game of Thrones has a LOT of massive leading roles, so we suppose they had to draw the line somewhere.

The final season of the show scored a record number of 32 nominations, however, lots of fans don’t think all of them are deserved.

Whether you loved or hated the last season of Thrones, we think the actors deserved the nominations for the roles they played across the eight seasons. See who takes home the biggest awards of the night on September 22nd on Fox.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login